Fluoride Action Network

Fluoride committee appointed by Topsfield town moderator

Source: Wicked Local Boxford | February 26th, 2015 | By Edie Leavengood

A special committee to study the removal of fluoride from the town’s water supply has formed, but has not met yet, according to Topsfield Town Clerk Ann D. Gill.

The creation of the committee was approved at a special town meeting on Sept. 30, 2014 after a citizens’ petition to remove the chemical was filed. The Committee’s findings will be reported at the Annual Topsfield Town Meeting on May 5, 2015.

Town Moderator George Hall appointed Gregg Demers, John Hart, William Hunt, Cheryl Jolley and Mark Liptak to the committee. They are in the process of vetting for any conflicts of interest, preparing to meet for open meeting law requirements as they apply to the committee and being sworn in to serve the community.

Gill said that all business of the committee will be open to the public all meetings will be announced and posted on the town’s website at least 48 hours prior to the meeting.