Fluoride Action Network

Lincoln voters reject fluoridation

Source: Bangor Daily News | November 8th, 2006
Location: United States, Maine

LINCOLN – Incumbent Rod Carr, former Councilor Bruce Albert and David Whalen were elected to the Town Council Tuesday night by voters who also rejected buying a new street sweeper or fluoridating town water.

With 1,479 and 971 votes, respectively, Carr and Whalen defeated challenger Byron Sanderson, who received 733 votes, Town Clerk Lisa J. Goodwin said. Albert ran unopposed to fill a seat vacated by the late John Weatherbee and received 1,618 votes.

Scott Gardner and newcomer Derek Maxwell filled two open seats on the SAD 67 board, which serves Chester, Lincoln and Mattawamkeag. Gardiner received 1,345 votes and Maxwell received 1,515.

Darlene Mulari and Diana Johnston ran unopposed as incumbents running for the seats they occupy on the Lincoln Sanitary District board of directors. Johnston received 1,591 votes and Mulari got 1,379.

Voters rejected fluoridation 1,304 to 515 and were almost equally nonplussed at the prospect of spending $200,000 on a new street sweeper, voting 1,009 to 795 against it.

Town Manager Glenn Aho had said he hoped voters would approve a new street sweeper. He said having a new sweeper would save hundreds of thousands of dollars in paving and repair costs on the town’s nearly 30 miles of paved roads and 500 catch basins.