Fluoride Action Network

About FAN

The Fluoride Action Network (FAN) seeks to broaden awareness among citizens, scientists, and policymakers on the toxicity of fluoride compounds. FAN provides comprehensive and up-to-date information and remains vigilant in monitoring government agency actions that impact the public's exposure to fluoride.

Our Team

  • Bill Osmunson, DDS, MPH, Acting Director
  • Stuart Cooper, Campaign Director
  • Jay Sanders, Education & Outreach Director
  • Ellen Connett, Managing Director
  • Carol Kopf, Media Director
  • Chris Neurath, Research Director
  • Paul Connett, PhD, Senior Advisor
  • Michael Connett, JD, Consultant
  • Bill Hirzy, PhD, Consultant

Advisory Board:

Miklos Bely, M.D., Ph.D., D.Sc., National Institute of Rheumatology, Budapest, Hungary. 
Jeffer Castelo Branco,
 Presidente, ACPO – Associação de Consciência à Prevenção Ocupacional, Brazil.
Mary Byrne,
National Coordinator, Fluoride Action Network NZ, New Zealand.
Robert Carton,
 PhD, Former President, EPA Headquarters Union, Washington D.C.
Pat Costner
, Senior Scientist, Greenpeace International, USA. 
Stephen Dean, DC
President, Massachusetts Communities for Pure Water, Massachusetts. 
Mark Diesendorf, PhD,
 Director, Sustainability Centre Pty Ltd, Sydney, and Adjunct Professor of Sustainability Policy, Murdoch University, Perth, Australia. 
Samuel S. Epstein, M.D.
, Professor emeritus, Environmental & Occupational Medicine, University of Illinois at Chicago School of Public Health; Chairman, Cancer Prevention Coalition; Right Livelihood Award Winner, 1998; author of The Politics of Cancer, Revisited, 1998.
Naomi Flack, Ed.M,
 So. Florida Citizens for Safe Drinking Water, Florida.
Deanna Havens, Fluoride Awareness Team of Kansas, Kansas.
Von Hernandez, Goldman Prize winner 2003, Toxics Campaigner, Greenpeace International, Philippines.
J. William Hirzy, PhD, Chemist in Residence, American University and Former Senior Vice President, EPA Headquarters Union, Washington DC.
C. Vyvyan Howard, MB, ChB, PhD, FRCPath, Senior Lecturer, Developmental Toxico-Pathology Group, Department of Human Anatomy and Cell Biology, University of Liverpool, UK. 
Tushar Kant Joshi, MS MSc, 
Head, Centre for Occupational and Environmental Health, Lok Nayak Hospital, New Delhi, India. 
Hardy Limeback, DDS, PhD, 
Former President, Canadian Association for Dental Research, Canada.
Peter Montague, PhD, Editor, Rachel’s Environment and Health News, New Jersey, USA; 
Raul Montenegro, PhD
, President, FUNAM (Fundación para la defensa del ambiente), Argentina.
Philip Robertson, ND,
 Lecturer, Natural Medicine, Dept. Health Science, Victoria University, Victoria, Australia.
Ralph Ryder, Director, Communities Against Toxics, UK.
Andrew Rynne, GP, Medical Writer, Irish Medical News, Ireland. 
AHM Saadat,
 Assistant Professor, Department of Environmental Science, Jahangirnagar University, Bangladesh.
Mageswari Sangaralingam
, Research Officer, Consumers’ Association of Penang, Malaysia. 
Mary J. Shomon
, Patient Advocate, and author of Living Well With Hypothyroidism, USA. 
David T. Smernoff, PhD, 
Board of Directors, Acterra, Action for a Sustainable Earth, California, USA.
Gar Smith, Editor Emeritus, Earth Island Journal, Berkeley, California, USA.
Bruce Spittle, MB, ChB, FRANZCP, Senior Lecturer (1978-2004), Department of Psychological Medicine, Dunedin School of Medicine, University of Otago, Dunedin, New Zealand.
John Stauber, Co-author of Toxic Sludge Is Good For You! and Trust Us, We’re Experts!, Wisconsin, USA.
Anna Strunecka, PhD, Professor of Physiology, King Charles University, Prague, Czech Republic.
Terri Swearingen, RN,
 Goldman Prize winner 1997, Executive Director, Tri-State Environmental Council, Chester, West Virginia, USA.
Chris Vermeire, Environmental Journalist, Antwerp, Belgium.
Mae Woo, DDS , Montana, USA.

back to top